New Release: 4 Star Review of Lessons in Letting Go by Jessica Peterson

Lessons In Letting Go

Author: Jessica Peterson 

Series: Study Abroad #3

Publication Date: 12/12/2016

Synopsis:

“Ten minutes ago, I was just an American student studying abroad in Spain. But now? Now I’m a professional soccer player’s muse. His good luck charm…”
Soccer star Rhys Maddox’s recovery from an injury isn’t going well—until one night with a beautiful American and a few terrible pick-up lines changes everything. With Laura at his side, he plays smarter, runs faster, and fights harder than he ever has on the pitch. She’s just the good luck charm he needs to turn his flailing career around.
Laura Bennet begins her semester in Madrid with plans to ditch bad habits and worse boyfriends. But when she unexpectedly gets caught up in Rhys’s A-list life, her plans are put on hold. Who wouldn’t skip class to fly on a private jet with a studly Welsh footballer? It’s a no brainer, or so she thinks. Turns out Rhys’s glamorous lifestyle hides an obsession with appearances—an obsession that makes her totally miserable. Determined to take back her happiness, Laura decides to dump Rhys and tackle a “Spain Bucket List” on her own.
But Rhys isn’t letting his good luck charm go without a fight. He’s spent his entire life trying to earn his way into the big leagues, and he’ll do anything to win—even risk his carefully crafted image to help Laura with her bucket list. Will he be able to let his ego go? Or will he and Laura ultimately let go of each other?

My Review:

Ps lucky enough to have Jessica Peterson email a request to review the first book in this series and that book, and ultimately this series, holds a special place in my heart. So, admittedly I’m a bit biased. That being said, here is my honest review. 


I was lucky enough to have Jessica Peterson email a request to review the first book in this series and that book, and ultimately this series, holds a special place in my heart. So, admittedly I’m a bit biased. That being said, here is my honest review. 
Laura is under a lot of pressure, pressure that mostly comes from her own head. Pressure to conform, to be better, prettier, more successful. I think we can all find a little bit of ourselves in Laura and her insecurities. She is a different kind of character from the other heroines in this series. She is not as easily likable, which I think was carefully crafted on Peterson’s part. Laura strives to appear perfect, but we get to see the flaws. So, in the beginning, it was hard to read her struggles and really like her as a person. BUT, as the book progresses, so does Laura and that is when she really shines. 
Rhys also has enormous pressure on his shoulders. Pressure to live up to his family’s expectations and to break free of the tainted shadow of his father’s legacy in the football world. Rhys is sexy and a little cheesy at times and he is easy to fall in love with and yet it hurts to see him try so hard and always feel he isn’t good enough. 
Laura and Rhys have a great start, but begin to struggle as their relationship grows. Rhys isn’t handling himself well and Laura doesn’t like who she is becoming. 
The story is really one of learning to love yourself and accept the love of others without stipulations. L & R have some brilliant moments and some not so brilliant ones, but ultimately it makes their relationship quite realistic and I loved that. They are sweet and sexy and fun and a hot mess at times and that, for me, was perfect. 
I really enjoyed Laura and Rhys’s story. Kudos to Jessica Peterson for giving us another great read in an all around great series!
Excerpt from LESSONS IN LETTING GO – Copyright 2016 by Jessica Peterson/Peterson Paperbacks
I wonder if Rhys Maddox would be an unreal lay. A trophy lay, one for the books, and not just because he’s the super hot footballer of my dreams. He’d be intense, athletic. Hard in all the right places.
For God’s sake he is smoking hot. He’s an athlete, with an athlete’s hard, delectable body. He’s got an accent, and a British one at that, and he is charming as hell.
He is asking me up to his penthouse suite.
“Are you really so generous?” I say, breathless. 
He runs his tongue along the slick inseam of his bottom lip. “Why don’t you come up to my room and find out?”
My heart skips a beat. “Liar,” I say. “God, Rhys, you’re such a liar.”
“I am?” 
“You said you weren’t good at pick-up lines.”
He smirks. 
I shouldn’t.
I shouldn’t take him up on his offer. But oh, I want to. And isn’t that what that bucket list I just drew up is all about? Doing what I want, eating what I want, being who I want without worrying about what anyone else thinks?
Tonight I want to be the girl who makes her footballer fantasies come true.
Tonight I’m going to do what I want.
And I really want Rhys.
About the Author

Jessica Peterson began reading romance to escape the decidedly unromantic awkwardness of her teenage years. Having found solace in the likes of Mr. Darcy, Jamie Fraser (OMG love the gingers!), and Edward Cullen, it wasn’t long before she began creating tall, dark and handsome heroes of her own. She lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her husband, Mr. Peterson, and her smelly Goldendoodle Martha Bean.

Leave a Reply

